Jurisdictions of land management in the NWT

There are two separate jurisdictions of land management in the NWT:

Inuvialuit Settlement Region
The Inuvialuit Settlement Region (ISR) and the Mackenzie Valley are governed by different statutes and have established resource management boards to perform regulatory, advisory, planning, and environmental assessment functions.

The Inuvialuit Final Agreement (1984) created management bodies for wildlife, land and environmental management for the Inuvialuit Settlement Region through changes to existing legislation.

Mackenzie Valley Region
For the rest of the NWT, new legislation called the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act (1998) (MVRMA), created boards for land, water and environmental management.

Translate Page »