Partners Overview

Northwest Territories Resource Management Boards

There are several governing bodies and regulatory organizations that have different mandates and responsibilities for certain areas in the Northwest Territories. The term ‘boards’ refers to institutions of public government and co-management and advisory bodies.

The Inuvialuit Settlement Region and the Mackenzie Valley are governed by different statutes and have established resource management boards to perform regulatory, advisory, planning, and environmental assessment functions.

The Inuvialuit Settlement Region boards and organizations involved in the environmental assessment and regulatory process are as follows:

  • Northwest Territories Water Board
  • Government of the Northwest Territories
  • Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Environment Canada
  • National Energy Board
  • Parks Canada

General functions of the boards

  • Ensure all land and water decisions protect the environment from any significant adverse impacts of proposed developments
  • Consider the economic, social and cultural well-being of residents and communities of the region and the territory as a whole
  • Prepare regional land use plans to guide resource development, and the use of land, water and other resources (Mackenzie Valley only)
  • Regulate all uses of land and water through the issuance of licences and permits (Mackenzie Valley only)
  • Conduct environmental assessment and environmental impact review processes
  • The management of wildlife and its habitat
  • The management of oil and gas exploration

Inspection and enforcement is the responsibility of the federal and territorial governments.

In the NWT, public lands are controlled, managed and administered by either Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, on federal Crown lands, or the Government of the Northwest Territories, on Commissioner’s Lands. Parks Canada, Environment Canada and the Department of Fisheries and Oceans also share responsibility for certain areas of the territory.

Through settled land claim agreements there are also areas of land which are governed by Aboriginal groups. Generally, the territory is divided into two regions:

Inuvialuit Settlement Region

  • A northern region of the territory which runs along the Beaufort Sea.
  • The Inuvialuit Land Administration has the administrative authority for Inuvialuit Private Lands under the Inuvialuit Final Agreement.

Mackenzie Valley

  • The Mackenzie Valley makes up much of the territory, with the exception of the Inuvialuit Settlement Region and Wood Buffalo National Park.
  • The Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act governs the management of land in the Mackenzie Valley.


View Maps By Region

Inuvialuit Settlement Region
Mackenzie Valley Settlement Region

View Partners By Region

Inuvialuit Settlement Region
Mackenzie Valley Region
Translate Page »