List of Acronyms

AANDC – Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

CITES – Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species

CABIN – Canadian Aquatic Biomonitoring Network

COSEWIC – Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada

CWS – Canadian Wildlife Service

DAR – Developer’s assessment report

DFO – Department of Fisheries and Oceans

EEM – Environmental Effects Monitoring

EIRB – Environmental Impact Review Board

EISC – Environmental Impact Screening Committee

ENR – Environment and Natural Resources

FJMC – Inuvialuit Fisheries Joint Management Committee

GCLCA – Gwich’in Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement

GLUPB – Gwich’in Land Use Planning Board

GLWB – Gwich’in Land and Water Board

GNWT – Government of the Northwest Territories

GRRB – Gwich’in Renewable Resources Board

HTC – Hunters and Trappers Committee

IFA – Inuvialuit Final Agreement

IGC – Inuvialuit Game Council

ILA – Inuvialuit Land Administration

IMA – Interim Measures Agreement

ISR – Inuvialuit Settlement Region

MBCA – Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1984

MMER – Metal Mining Effluent Regulations

MMOs – Marine mammal observers

MVEIRB – Mackenzie Valley Environmental Impact Review Board

MVLWB – Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board

MVRMA – Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act

NEB – National Energy Board

NMP – Northern mountain population (of woodland caribou)

PPER – Pulp and Paper Effluent Regulations

RRC – Renewable Resource Council

SARA – Species at Risk Act

SDMCLCA – Sahtú Dene and Metis Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement

SLWB – Sahtú Land and Water Board

SLUPB – Sahtú Land Use Planning Board

SRRB – Sahtú Renewable Resources Board

TK – Traditional knowledge

VECs – Valued ecosystem components

WAH – Western Arctic Herd

WLWB – Wek’èezhìi Land and Water Board

WMAC NWT – Wildlife Management Advisory Council NWT

WMAC NS – Wildlife Management Advisory Council North Slope

WRRB – Wek’èezhìi Renewable Resources Board

Translate Page »